What’s In A Name?

What’s In A Name?

Name is everything. Well, almost everything. Name is identity. Name is character. Name is reputation. A name is a word or words expressing a quality considered characteristic or descriptive of a person or a thing. Everest. One word that says “the world’s highest mountain.”   The Snows of Kilimanjaro.  Words that express the adventure of the African continent.

A name can often show approval or disapproval. My surname is Nisbett. The old Scottish records indicate that the name means “none better.”  That is an expression of confidence in the family name! Nisbett may also mean “nose biter.”  I don’t remember ever biting anyone’s nose myself unless it was my brother Rick’s nose when we were very young boys in a fierce battle! My given name is Thomas.  It means “twin” or “truth-seeker.”

I really like these names from the wild places I’ve traveled: “The Gates of the Valley” (Yosemite), The “Hogsback” on Mt. Hood, “Gooseneck Glacier” in Wyoming, “Gunsight Pass” in Utah, “Disappointment Cleaver” on Mt. Rainier.  I remember my solo climb through the “Red Banks” and up snow-covered “Misery Hill” through “Avalanche Gulch” to the summit of “Mount Shasta.”  Great names preserve great memories.

Preserve your good name.

 

About askforancientpaths

Mountain Climber Organizational Consultant Spiritual Teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment